Deborah Crooks


The Department of the West

Pre-order the new 11-song record - Official release Dec. 6, 2019

This new collection of songs was recorded in San Francisco, CA between January and April 2019 at Tiny Telephone Studio in the Mission District. The session was engineered by the wonderful Maryam Qudus, co-produced by Danny Allen (guitars, backing vocals) and includes the stellar contributions of Mike Stevens (drum, percussion) and Kevin T. White on bass. Kwame Copeland, Maurice Tani, Heather Davison and Maryam also added backing vocals on several of the tunes.  Mastered by Piper Payne at Infrasonic Sound, Oakland, CA.

I’m pleased and excited to share with you this newest batch of songs. Pre-order it now and receive a copy before its official release in December.

Featuring 11 new songs:

  1. Lit by The Mystery (2:28)
  2. Let the River do the Running (4:21)
  3. Honey (3:30)
  4. All Signs (3:57)
  5. A Garden (3:48)
  6. Department of the West (3:11)
  7. My New Sweet (3:53)
  8. Long Roads (4:27)
  9. The Other Side (4:38)
  10. River Stones (3:43)
  11. What the Land Will Tell You (3:10)

©Deborah Crooks/Bird in the Tree Music (ASCAP)